Same number of hours per dayMassively messy desk.

Blew past the deadline weeks ago.

Outrageous procrastination factor.

How will I ever get this done?

I’ve got it!

  1. Binge-watch The Good Wife.
  2. Pace in circles around the office while gulping coffee and gnashing my teeth.
  3. Keep postponing, waiting for the adrenaline rush to kick in.

Hmmm. Maybe there’s another way?

I’m not a big fan of traditional time management systems because they don’t really get to the root-cause of a lack of time.  You.  Er, Me.

I’ve studied a lot of time management programs. And here’s one idea I’ve used that has actually helped me get myself to do the important things.

Break the task into bite-size pieces.

When I was recently faced with a looming deadline and a wreck of a messy office, I set a timer for 10 minutes only. I did as much as I could. When the timer rang, I stopped.

Left the room. Brewed a cup of tea. Wandered around outside for a bit.

Came back and set the timer for 10 more minutes.  Four mini-cyclones later, I had the desk cleared. Books put away. Papers organized into one of 4 priorities:

Priority 1:   Today – beside computer

Priority 2:   This week – in magazine-type file box on desk

Priority 3:   This month – file folders in cabinet near desk

Priority 4:   Long-term – filed in cabinet in closet

                   

A friend of mine wrote her entire master’s thesis in 5-minute bites a day.

If the thoughts were flowing, she re-set it for another 5 minutes. If she was struggling, she got up and did something else.

Before Timer: Not doing it

After Timer: Done

Some days 20 minutes or 2 paragraphs is the best day.

 

When you find yourself in Procrastination Purgatory, try this.

Play with time.

How many small tasks can you get done in a short amount of time?

***Are you ready to trade overwhelmed, overstressed and overworked for highly productive, totally peaceful and ridiculously fun?***

Start now>>>  http://www.girl-friended.com/timeabundance

