• Texting while driving even though you know it’s dangerous.

    Froggy Mind - jumping to past and future

    Froggy Mind – jumping to past and future

  • It’s hard to remember things.
  • Distracted, even around people you love.

 Sound familiar?

 I know. You’re busy. Crazy busy. Doing 3 things while your mind is mucking around in your endless to-do list.

I’d be loading laundry, cleaning the cat box and making a mental grocery list as I was ruminating about the looming deadline on a project.

One day I passed a store window and wondered who that woman was, rushing by with her chin jutting out. I realized with a jolt it was my own reflection.

I was running through my life instead of actually living it.

 The tension of doing one thing while worrying about the need to do another left me feeling tired and wired. And yes, more than a wee bit cranky.

 In his book Less: Accomplishing More by Doing Less, Marc Lesser says:

No matter how mundane the activity, treat everything as important and take pleasure in it.

At bottom, whatever we are doing right now is what we are engaged in and it deserves our full attention and appreciation.”

Quieting our mind greases our mental gears. It actually improves our focus and concentration.

Instead of “body in one place, mind in another” I can notice. I’m. Here. Now.

When I’m washing the dishes, I can feel the warm water. Feel my breath at the tip of my nose. See the colors moving on the bubbles.

No matter what is going on, I can let go of froggy-mind that jumps to any place but the now moment. 

When I quiet my mind, I find I actually have more energy. I’m more alert to the song inside my heart.

And my family will tell you – I’m  a whole lot easier to be around.

